THE CARER

À propos

A deliciously funny, poignant and wry novel, full of surprising twists and turns from a writer whose clear-sighted observations of how people work - for readers of Anne Tyler, Ann Patchett and Elizabeth Strout "The Moggach miracle continues' The Times James, once an erudite and eminent professor, is getting on a bit and needs full-time help. So Phoebe and Robert, his middle-aged offspring, employ Mandy, who seems willing to take him off their hands. But as time goes on, and James regales his family with tales of Mandy's skills, her shopping trips, and the shared pleasure of their journeys to garden centres and watching birds, Phoebe and Robert sense something is amiss. Is this really their father, the distant figure who never once turned up for a sports day, now happily chortling over cuckoo clocks and television soaps? Then something happens that throws everything into new relief, and Phoebe and Robert discover that life most definitely does not stop for the elderly. It just moves onto a very different plane - changing all the stories they thought they knew so well.

Rayons : Littérature générale > Littérature générale

  • EAN

    9781472260499

  • Disponibilité

    Disponible

  • Nombre de pages

    272 Pages

  • Longueur

    19.8 cm

  • Largeur

    12.8 cm

  • Poids

    204 g

  • Distributeur

    Olf

  • Support principal

    Poche

empty